starstruck sweethearts

stuck on you like moth wings on bathroom walls when I take a
long
hot
shower.

hour after hour I’m sweet on you like sweat on you
bet on you,
wet on you,
stuck to you like hot glue–
ah! it burns a bit,
it twists me up and turns a bit

when you unravel me,
travel me back to when your name sounded sweeter,
metre by metre I trace your trip
with my fingertips
from here to the stars;
from this planet to Mars,
streaked with starlight,
streetlights brighten those eyes like wildfire,
the cosmos caked in your hair,
gasping for air,
but, my god, you are dazzling–

eyes on you like everybody else’s,
moves on you like everybody’s elsewhere–
don’t care,
we’re somewhere between here and nowhere
and I won’t dare
to take your name between my teeth
after this
last
kiss.

dance me back to when you fizzed like sherbet on the tip of my tongue,
sweet and salt at the same time–
in the right frame of mind you’re
just
my
taste.

so don’t waste it,
don’t tempt fate or my patience–
the waiting game’s not one I’ll play for always

but, until you fall back to this planet,
hardened like granite
half of me will hope to see us,
bright like satellites,
orbiting the same star again.

Leave a comment